Distance: 9 km
Duration (average) : 2 hours
Level: Blue level - Moderate
Elevation: 130 D +
Departure: Saint-Sulpice-des-Rivoires
Loop
Recommended period (s): Autumn, Summer, Winter, Spring

Walking

This pleasant walk located in Valdaine, on the Mont de Servelongue, will make you discover the forest of Fontaine Mignone "garden forest" which is, above all, a sustainably managed forest. Prefer the weekend for this walk (forestry work)!

Composed of several species such as: chestnut trees, oaks, beeches, ash trees, maples, lime trees whose green or orange trees compete in nuances according to the seasons, the forest of Fontaine Mignonne is also called "irregular forest". The principle of the garden forest is to have trees of different ages and sizes coexist in the same place.

At regular intervals, the owners carry out periodic cuts which make it possible to harvest the "ripe" trees, to select the trees which may interfere with each other and to carry out thinning allowing the regeneration of the environment by avoiding the "clear cuts" that the tree has to offer. 'we can see on some slopes where an entire sector is harvested at once.
The forest paths created for this method of management are also a delight for walkers. You are the witnesses!

Note: Access to this private forest is authorized for hikers who must stay on the marked route. One-off access bans made necessary by forestry activity may limit the authorization to pass. Information will then be put in place in the field.

“The forest is an essential part of our human heritage” (Michel Tournier, Celebrations - Gallimard editions).

Tour stages:
- Saint-Sulpice-des-Rivoires
- Les Fayeux
-Larembert
- Servelongue
- The Donni
- Saint-Sulpice-des-Rivoires

FIELD NEWS (June 2022): development work on forest tracks on Mont Servelongue (Larembert post, Servelongue and Le Donni). For your safety, do not enter the area if construction sites are in progress. Prefer the weekend!

to report a problem

Weather

Activities

Customers

  • Blue level - Moderate

Prices

Free access.

Distance : 9 km
Durée (moyenne) : 2h30
Niveau : Niveau bleu - Modéré
Dénivelé : 130 D+
Départ : Saint-Sulpice-des-Rivoires
Boucle
Période(s) conseillée(s) : Printemps, Automne, Eté, Hiver

À pied

INFO 16/03/21 : Travaux forestiers en cours, circuit déconseillé. Cette agréable balade située en Valdaine, sur le Mont de Servelongue, vous fera découvrir la forêt de Fontaine Mignone « forêt jardinée » qui est, avant tout une forêt gérée durablement.

Composée de plusieurs espèces telles que : châtaigniers, chênes, hêtres, frênes, érables, tilleuls dont les verts ou les oranges rivalisent de nuances selon les saisons, la forêt de Fontaine Mignonne est appelée aussi « futaie irrégulière ». La forêt jardinée a pour principe de faire cohabiter dans un même lieu des arbres d’âges et de dimensions différents.

À intervalles réguliers, les propriétaires procèdent à des coupes périodiques qui permettent de récolter les arbres « mûrs », de sélectionner les arbres pouvant se gêner entre-eux et de réaliser des éclaircies permettant la régénération du milieu en évitant les « coupes blanches » que l’on observe sur certains versants où tout un secteur est récolté en une seule fois.
Les chemins forestiers créés pour ce mode de gestion, font ainsi également le bonheur des promeneurs. Vous en êtes les témoins !

Remarque : L’accès dans cette forêt privée est autorisé aux randonneurs qui doivent impérativement rester sur l’itinéraire balisé. Des interdictions d'accès ponctuelles rendues nécessaires par l'activité forestière pourront limiter l’autorisation de passage. Une information sera alors mise en place sur le terrain.

« La forêt est partie essentielle de notre héritage humain » (Michel Tournier, Célébrations - éditions Gallimard).

Étapes du circuit :
- Saint-Sulpice-des-Rivoires
- Les Fayeux
- Larembert
- Servelongue
- Le Donni
- Saint-Sulpice-des-Rivoires

Attention : les travaux forestiers vont durer plusieurs mois sur les secteurs de Le Donni, Servelongue, Larembert, La Savoyère sur Saint Sulpice des Rivoires.

Signaler un problème

Météo

Activités

Clientèles

  • Niveau bleu - Modéré

Tarifs

Accès libre.