The church is mentioned for the first time in a charter in 1091. As its name suggests, it was located outside the ramparts of the old town and was surrounded by the town cemetery. It was ceded in 1108 to the Benedictines of Saint Chef.

The Benedictines rebuilt it in the middle of the 1497th century, of which only "the bell tower" remains. The rest of the church is Gothic in style. The description of the building made in XNUMX largely corresponds to its current state.
The church of Saint Laurent des Prés de Tullins, a contemporary of Charlemagne, is the only one to have allegories of good and evil on its steeple. This church takes the eponymous "des Prés" from the fact that when it was founded, in the 300th century, it was located in the countryside, surrounded by the town's original cemetery. Presenting a harmonious ensemble of several styles, it retains from the original construction its Romanesque porch-bell tower, altered in the XNUMXth century. In the following century, the bishop Saint Hugues of Grenoble, the one who was to install Saint Bruno in the Grande Chartreuse, gave the church to Benedictine monks from Saint-Chef who rearranged it in a style of transition between Romanesque and Gothic. . For XNUMX years, side chapels were built in the nave. At the end of the XNUMXth century, a magnificent Cistercian choir with a flat bottom was erected to divine glory.
To discover on the route of the historic circuit of Tullins, map available free of charge at the town hall.

Visit

Additional visit:
Individual visit with explanatory panels on the site. Group visits on request provided by the association for the preservation of the Saint Laurent des Prés church.

Individual visit services

  • Unguided individual tours permanently

Group visits services

  • Guided group tours on request

Opening

All year, every day.

Prices

Free access.

Reduced mobility

Adapted tourism

  • Wheelchair accessible with assistance
  • Reserved space 330 cm wide <20 m from the site
  • Vertical signage for parking spaces
  • Site, building partially accessible

Login

SNCF train station. Bus line 5200, La Bascule stop and Camille Desmoulins school.

L'église est mentionnée pour la première fois dans une charte en 1091. Comme son nom l'indique, elle se situait à l'extérieur des remparts du bourg ancien et était entourée du cimetière de la ville. Elle est cédée en 1108 aux bénédictins de Saint Chef.

Les bénédictins en font la reconstruction au milieu du XIIème siècle dont seul subsiste "le clocher porche". Le reste de l'église est de style gothique. La description de l'édifice faite en 1497 correspond en grande partie à son état actuel.
L'église Saint Laurent des Prés de Tullins, contemporaine de Charlemagne, est la seule à posséder sur son clocher des allégories du bien et du mal. Cette église tire l'éponyme "des Prés" du fait qu'à sa fondation, au IXème siècle elle se trouve en pleine campagne, entourée du cimetière primitif de la ville. Présentant un ensemble harmonieux de plusieurs styles, elle conserve de la construction d'origine son porche-clocher roman remanié au XIème siècle. Au siècle suivant, l'évêque Saint Hugues de Grenoble , celui qui va installer Saint Bruno à la grande Chartreuse, donne l'église à des moines bénédictins venus de Saint-Chef qui la réaménagent dans un style de transition entre le roman et le gothique. Durant 300 ans, des chapelles latérales sont construites dans la nef. A la fin du XVème siècle, un magnifique chœur cistercien à fond plat est érigé à la gloire divine.
A découvrir sur le parcours du circuit historique de Tullins, plan disponible gratuitement en mairie.

Visite

Complément de visite :
Visite individuelle avec panneaux explicatifs sur le site. Visite de groupes sur demande assuré par l'association pour la sauvegarde de l'église Saint Laurent des Prés.

Prestations visites individuelles

  • Visites individuelles libres en permanence

Prestations visites groupées

  • Visites groupes guidées sur demande

Ouverture

Toute l'année, tous les jours.

Tarifs

Entrée libre.

Accès

Gare SNCF. Bus ligne 5200 arrêt La Bascule et école Camille Desmoulins.