Next

Previous

7

Castle of the year XNUMX (XNUMXth-XNUMXth century). Astonishing by its military character and its formal gardens, it offers the visit of very beautiful rooms: the Louis XIII bedroom, the medieval kitchen, the chapel (XNUMXth century) and the keep with its "funnel" vault.

After being greeted by our team of guides, all you have to do is let yourself be accompanied on a guided tour lasting an hour. You will start your visit in front of the imposing entrance door, exceptional because it is made up of 2115 original nails, surmounted by its pediment, bearing the Virieu coat of arms… you are now in the main courtyard of the Château de Virieu. You are in the heart of the castle, at the foot of its keep. On your right, you can see the cannons donated by Louis XIII in 1622, placed under the Italian-style brick Arcade gallery. A few steps and here you are in the calm universe of the Chapelle de Virieu. Entering the Chapel, you will discover the Stations of the Cross sculpted by Stéphanie de Virieu at the age of 80 as well as the starry vault in the shape of an overturned boat. In a few steps, under the gallery, you access the old kitchen, which nowadays serves as a dining room. You will discover the monumental fireplace with its low arch, its XNUMXth century hearth plate, a memory of the ancient Charterhouse of the Sylve Bénite. You can also appreciate its furniture before entering the Great Hall steeped in history.
The king's bedroom, an impressive and majestic room, so named because King Louis XIII slept there in 1622, has retained its appearance and some of its original furniture.
You then access the White Room which was to be a chapel.
The visit ends in the keep, now a place of memory dedicated to the Resistance during the dark period of the German occupation from 1940 to 1944.

Free information : Adult groups: * On reservation from mid-March to 01 November. * Min 14 / Maxi 40 people (if more than 40 people, the group can be divided into two to guarantee good visiting conditions) * Guided tour of the castle (1h) + the gardens and the dovecote (around 30 min) * 6.50 € per person (guided tour) - one free ticket for the driver - one free for every twenty people * Brochure for download School groups and leisure centers: * Reception on the site possible from mid-March to 1 November from Monday to Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 15 p.m. * Capacity: maximum two classes * A guide for the visit of the Castle and the French Gardens. Program: life from the Middle Ages to the present day is evoked according to the age of the children * A speaker for the workshops * 5.50 € per child for the visit of the castle / 6,50 € per child for the visit of the castle + a workshop (the services are paid directly to the speakers on the day of your arrival) * Possibility of picnic outdoors and provision of a room in case of bad weather * Brochure for download. Parking for 5 coaches, site accessible from the parking lot for people with reduced mobility.

Activities

Customers

  • Groups welcome

Visit

  • Average duration of the individual visit: 90 min
  • Average duration of the group visit: 45 min
  • Groups of 14 to 40 people welcome.

Additional visit:
All tours are guided: departure 14pm-30pm-15pm-30pm

Customers

  • Groups welcome

Visit languages

  • English
  • French

Individual visit services

  • Permanent individual guided tours
  • Mandatory guided individual tours

Group visits services

  • Guided group tours permanently
  • Mandatory guided group visits

Booking

Reservation required by email for groups.

Prices

Reduced price: € 6 (Member If you are from North Isère, other ...)
Adult: 8 €
Child (7-16 years old): € 6 (From 6 to 16 years old.
Free under 6)
Large family: € 19 (Family package: 1 or 2 parents with their children, on presentation of proof)
Group adults: € 6,50.

Free for less than 6 years.
Group rate from 14 people.

Possibility to buy your ticket in advance on the site
http://www.chateau-de-virieu.com.

Payment method

  • Bank / credit card
  • Check
  • Cash

Services

Equipments

  • Aire de pique-nique
  • Picnic room
  • Toilets
  • Show room
  • Parking lot
  • Parking nearby
  • Coach parking

Services

  • Educational visits
  • Coach access
  • Theme visit
  • Shop
  • Drop off on site for groups
  • Tourist Documentation
  • Tourist information
  • Guided tours

Activities on site

  • Children's entertainment
  • Concert
  • Temporary exhibitions
  • Evening entertainment
  • Show
  • Manual workshops

Reduced mobility

Adapted tourism

  • Adapted services for visual impairment

Physical disability

Reception of people in wheelchairs (provided that it is not an electric wheelchair).

Visual impairment

Setting up by reservation (minimum 12 people) of a guided tour for the visually impaired or blind.

Login

From Grenoble: A48 motorway, Rives exit, D520 direction Bourgoin Jallieu, at Burcin D73 direction Virieu.
From Lyon: A48 motorway towards Chambéry. La Tour du Pin exit. D17 direction Virieu.

Suivant

Précédent

7

Château de l’an Mil (XIe-XVIIIe). Étonnant par son caractère militaire et ses jardins à la française, il offre à la visite de très belles pièces : la chambre Louis XIII, la cuisine médiévale, la chapelle (XVIIe) et le donjon avec sa voûte "en entonnoir".

Après avoir été accueillis par notre équipe de guides, vous n’aurez plus qu’à vous laisser accompagner pour une visite guidée d’une petite heure. Vous commencerez votre visite face à l’imposante porte d’entrée, exceptionelle car composée de 2115 clous d’origine, surmontée de son fronton, portant les armoiries Virieu…vous voici maintenant dans la cour d’honneur du Château de Virieu. Vous êtes au cœur du château, au pied de son donjon. Vous apercevez à votre droite les canons offerts par Louis XIII en 1622, placés sous la galerie à Arcade en brique de style italien. Quelques pas et vous voici dans l'univers si calme de la Chapelle de Virieu. En entrant dans la Chapelle, vous découvrirez le chemin de croix sculpté par Stéphanie de Virieu à l'âge de 80 ans ainsi que la voûte étoilée en forme de barque renversée. En quelques pas, sous la galerie, vous accédez à l'ancienne cuisine, servant, de nos jours, de salle à manger. Vous y découvrirez la monumentale cheminée avec son arc surbaissé, sa plaque foyère du XIIIème, souvenir de l'antique Chartreuse de la Sylve Bénite. Vous pourrez également apprécier son mobilier avant d'accéder à la Grande Salle chargée d'histoire.
La chambre du roi, pièce impressionnante et majestueuse, dénommée ainsi car le Roi Louis XIII y dormit en 1622, a conservé son aspect et une partie de son mobilier d'origine.
Vous accédez ensuite à la Chambre blanche qui devait être une chapelle.
La visite se termine vers le donjon, désormais lieu de mémoire consacré à la Résistance durant la période noire de l'occupation allemande de 1940 à 1944.

Informations complémentaire : Groupes adultes : * Sur réservation de la mi-mars au 01 novembre. * Min 14 / Maxi 40 personnes (si plus de 40 personnes, le groupe peut être divisé en deux pour garantir de bonnes conditions de visite) * Visite guidée du château (1h) + des jardins et du colombier (environ 30 min) * 6.50€ par personne (visite guidée) - une gratuité accordée au chauffeur - une gratuité toutes les vingt personnes * Brochure en téléchargement Groupes scolaires et centres de loisirs : * Accueil sur le site possible de la mi-mars au 1er novembre du lundi au vendredi de 9h30 à 15h. * Capacité d’accueil : maximum deux classes * Un guide pour la visite du Château et des Jardins à la Française. Programme : la vie du Moyen Âge à nos jours est évoquée en fonction de l’âge des enfants * Un intervenant pour les ateliers * 5.50€ par enfant pour la visite du château / 6,50€ par enfant pour la visite du château + un atelier (les prestations se règlent directement aux intervenants le jour de votre venue) * Possibilité de pique-nique en extérieur et mise à disposition d’une salle en cas de mauvais temps * Brochure en téléchargement. Parking pour 5 autocars, site accessible depuis le parking pour les personnes à mobilité réduite.

Dispositions spéciales COVID 19 : Mise à jour le 09/08/2021 - Le pass sanitaire est demandé à l'entrée de l’établissement pour les personnes âgées de plus de 18 ans. celui-ci sera également demandé à partir du 30 septembre pour les 12/17 ans. Le masque obligatoire pour les enfants dès 11 ans et accompagnants.

Activités

Clientèles

  • Accueil groupes

Visite

  • Durée moyenne de la visite individuelle : 90 min
  • Durée moyenne de la visite groupe : 45 min
  • Accueil groupe de 14 à 40 personnes.

Clientèles

  • Accueil groupes

Langues visite

  • Anglais
  • Français

Prestations visites individuelles

  • Visites individuelles guidées en permanence
  • Visites individuelles guidées obligatoire

Prestations visites groupées

  • Visites groupes guidées en permanence
  • Visites groupes guidées obligatoire

Ouverture

Du 01/09 au 22/10/2021, tous les samedis et dimanches de 14h à 18h.
Et jours fériés
Toutes les visites sont guidées : départ 14h30-15h30-16h30-17h30
Possibilité de visite pour les groupes sur demande tous les jours.

Tarifs

Saison 2021 - La visite se fera temporairement en déambulation libre à l'aide de panneaux explicatifs au tarif de 6 euros.
Possibilité d'acheter son billet à l'avance sur le site
http://www.chateau-de-virieu.com

Moyens de paiement

  • Carte bancaire/crédit
  • Chèque
  • Espèces

Prestations

Équipements

  • Aire de pique-nique
  • Salle hors-sac
  • Toilettes
  • Salle d'exposition
  • Parking
  • Parking à proximité
  • Parking autocar

Services

  • Visites pédagogiques
  • Accès autocar
  • Visite à thème
  • Boutique
  • Dépose sur site pour les groupes
  • Documentation Touristique
  • Informations touristiques
  • Visites guidées

Activités sur place

  • Animation enfants
  • Concert
  • Expositions temporaires
  • Animations de soirées
  • Spectacle
  • Ateliers manuels

Accessibilité

Tourisme adapté

  • Prestations adaptées pour déficience visuelle

Handicap moteur

Accueil des personnes en fauteuil (à condition que ce ne soit pas un fauteuil électrique).

Handicap visuel

Mise en place sur réservation (minimum 12 personnes) d'une visite guidée pour les mal ou non voyants.

Accès

Depuis Grenoble : autoroute A48, sortie Rives, D520 direction Bourgoin Jallieu, à Burcin D73 direction Virieu.
Depuis Lyon : autoroute A48 direction Chambéry. Sortie La Tour du Pin. D17 direction Virieu.