Distance: 75 km
Duration (average) : 6h
Level: Black level - Very difficult
Elevation: 1950 D +
Departure: Saint-Étienne-de-Crossey
Loop
Recommended period (s): Spring, Summer, Autumn

By bike

A foray into a monumental and unspoiled nature, which offers all the diversity of the Chartreuse landscapes: forests, leaping torrents and steep cliffs. A course where the sporting, natural and cultural riches parade.

You deserve these panoramas: check your equipment as well as your physical condition before embarking on this somewhat demanding tour. Lighting and a windbreaker will prove useful for certain passages.
(1) In Saint-Étienne-de-Crossey, take the D49 towards Saint-Nicolas-de-Macherin, leaving the football field on the left. About 1 km after St-Nicolas-de-Macherin, turn right on the D49c, direction Saint-Sixte. The road rises, regular and not very steep, in the middle of the pastures.
(2) After Saint-Sixte, stay on the D49c, towards Merlas, then on the D28, towards Miribel-les-Échelles. The climb continues to the Col des Mille Martyrs (884 m), which marks the start of the descent to Miribel-les-Échelles.
(3) On leaving Miribel-les-Échelles, where a refreshment break is possible, turn left on the D49, which goes down to Entre-deux-Guiers.
(4) In Entre-deux-Guiers, at the traffic lights, take the lower street almost opposite, then to the right and immediately to the left, the direction of Saint-Christophe-sur-Guiers on the D520c. Staying on the D520c, cross the village of Saint-Christophe-sur-Guiers and follow the direction of Saint-Pierre-d'Entremont. After Berland, the climb towards Saint-Pierre-d'Entremont begins. Without any particular difficulty, it runs along the Guiers Vivid for several kilometers, passing through the Pas du Frou, a rather impressive corbelled passage! The panorama on the surrounding mountains and the valley cut by the river is superb.
(5) In Saint-Pierre-d'Entremont, in front of the tourist office, turn right, direction Saint-Pierre-de-Chartreuse. When leaving Saint-Pierre-d'Entremont, be careful to follow the D102b on the right which climbs towards Préversin. Here begins the climb to the Col du Cucheron, the most serious part of the route: 8,5 km at 8,3% slope on average with passages at 10%.
(6) Once at the pass, before starting the descent to Saint-Pierre-de-Chartreuse, looking back is worth a little break! In Saint-Pierre-de-Chartreuse, go down towards Saint-Laurent-du-Pont on the D512. The road runs along the gorges of Guiers mort and crosses several short tunnels which require lighting.
(7) In Saint-Laurent-du-Pont, at the traffic lights, turn left, then, 150 meters further, right on the D28 towards Miribel-les-Échelles. Stay on the D28, for one of the last climbs of the route until the intersection with the D49.
(8) There, turn left, on the D49, direction Saint-Étienne-de-Crossey and return to the starting point via Saint-Roch and Ture. At La Rossetière, at the roundabout, take care to take the chemin de la Burletière, in order to avoid the main road axis. At the end of the path, take the D49 on the right. At the intersection, turn right, onto the small prairie path, which will take you back to the starting point.

to report a problem

Weather

Activities

Customers

  • Black level - Very difficult

Prices

Free access.

Distance : 75 km
Durée (moyenne) : 6h
Niveau : Niveau noir - Très difficile
Dénivelé : 1950 D+
Départ : Saint-Étienne-de-Crossey
Boucle
Période(s) conseillée(s) : Printemps, Eté, Automne

En vélo

Une incursion dans une nature monumentale et préservée, qui offre toute la diversité des paysages de la Chartreuse : des forêts, des torrents bondissants et des falaises abruptes. Un parcours où défilent les richesses sportives, naturelles et culturelles.

Ces panoramas se méritent : vérifiez votre équipement ainsi que votre condition physique avant de vous lancer dans ce tour un peu exigeant. Un éclairage et un coupe-vent s’avèreront utiles pour certains passages.
(1) À Saint-Étienne-de-Crossey, prendre la D49 vers Saint-Nicolas-de-Macherin en laissant le terrain de foot sur la gauche. 1 km environ après St-Nicolas-de-Macherin, prendre à droite, sur la D49c, direction Saint-Sixte. La route s’élève, régulière et peu pentue, au milieu des pâtures.
(2) Après Saint-Sixte, rester sur la D49c, direction Merlas, puis sur la D28, vers Miribel-les-Échelles. La montée se poursuit jusqu’au col des Mille martyrs (884 m), qui marque le début de la descente jusqu’à Miribel-les-Échelles.
(3) À la sortie de Miribel-les-Échelles, où une pause ravitaillement est possible, prendre à gauche, la D49, qui descend jusqu’à Entre-deux-Guiers.
(4) À Entre-deux-Guiers, au feu, prendre presqu’en face, la rue basse, puis à droite et immédiatement à gauche, la direction de Saint-Christophe-sur-Guiers sur la D520c. En restant sur la D520c, traverser le village de Saint-Christophe-sur-Guiers et suivre la direction de Saint-Pierre-d’Entremont. Après Berland, la montée en direction de Saint-Pierre-d’Entremont commence. Sans difficulté particulière, elle longe le Guiers vif sur plusieurs kilomètres, en passant par le pas du Frou, un passage en encorbellement plutôt impressionnant ! Le panorama sur les montagnes environnantes et la vallée taillée par la rivière est superbe.
(5) À Saint-Pierre-d’Entremont, devant l’office de tourisme, prendre à droite, direction Saint-Pierre-de-Chartreuse. À la sortie de Saint-Pierre-d’Entremont, attention à bien suivre, sur la droite, la D102b qui grimpe direction Préversin. Ici commence la montée vers le col du Cucheron, partie la plus sérieuse de l’itinéraire : 8,5 km à 8,3 % de pente en moyenne avec des passages à 10 %.
(6) Une fois au col, avant d’entamer la redescente vers Saint-Pierre-de-Chartreuse, le coup d’œil en arrière mérite une petite pause ! À Saint-Pierre-de-Chartreuse, descendre vers Saint-Laurent-du-Pont sur la D512. La route longe les gorges du Guiers mort et traverse plusieurs tunnels courts qui nécessitent un éclairage.
(7) À Saint-Laurent-du-Pont, au feu, prendre à gauche, puis, 150 mètres plus loin, à droite sur la D28 direction Miribel-les-Échelles. Rester sur la D28, pour l’une des dernières côtes du parcours jusqu’à l’intersection avec la D49.
(8) Là, prendre à gauche, sur la D49, direction Saint-Étienne-de-Crossey et revenir vers le point de départ par Saint-Roch et Ture. À la Rossetière, au rond-point, prendre soin d’emprunter le chemin de la Burletière, afin d’éviter l’axe routier principal. Au bout du chemin, récupérer, sur la droite, la D49. À l’intersection, prendre à droite, sur le petit chemin des prairies, qui permettra de rejoindre le point de départ.

Signaler un problème

Météo

Activités

Clientèles

  • Niveau noir - Très difficile

Tarifs

Accès libre.