“ANIMA(L)” exhibition

To 30 October 2022

Free

Add to my Google Calendar

The sculptures with prehistoric features by the ceramist Ule Ewelt plunge us into an atmosphere steeped in history and legends. A return to the cradle of our origins, when human existence was closely linked to that of animals...

The artist examines the close and contradictory relationship between humans and animals. This goes back to the origins of mankind. The study of archaic representations and animals convinced her to place the Human-Animal relationship at the heart of her artistic work.

Buffalo head, woolly rhinoceros, horse, mammoth... The ceramic sculptures take us back to prehistory, refer us to rock art but also to the history of the territory, remembered by the excavations of Lake Paladru. These discoveries confirm the pre-existing link between humans and animals: between life, threat and legends. Beyond the figurative, it is the soul of these animals that Ule Ewelt reveals to us.

"ANIMA(L). The word "anima" is translated in different ways: it means soul, animate beings, life, but also breath of air, wind and breath. The word animal, for creature, drifting animal". Ule Ewelt (2019)

Ule Ewelt, learns ceramics from the age of 16, but it is only much later that she professionalizes to live from it. She first worked as an urban planner for six years, to turn to the profession of potter. But it is ultimately figurative ceramics that she will choose in 2011. “Now I have the feeling of being absolutely authentic in what I do”. She is the first self-taught ceramist to join the guild of ceramists of Hesse in Germany (her native region). In 2013, she focused entirely on animal sculptures and experimented with different smoking techniques.

Date

From April 30 to October 30, 2022.

From April 30 to June 30 and from September 1 to October 30, open every Saturday, Sunday and public holidays from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m. Exceptional opening on May 27 (Ascension Bridge).

In July-August, every day from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.

Prices

Free access.

Login

From Grenoble A 48, direction Lyon, exit Rives, then D 520 to Oyeu and D17 to Le Pin.

Photos

Next

Previous

4

Jusqu'au 30 Juin 2022

Gratuit

Ajouter à mon Agenda Google

Les sculptures aux traits préhistoriques de la céramiste Ule Ewelt nous plongent dans une atmosphère chargée d’histoire et de légendes. Un retour au berceau de nos origines, lorsque l’existence humaine était étroitement liée à celle des animaux...

L’artiste se penche sur la relation étroite et contradictoire existant entre l’Homme et les animaux. Celle-ci remonte aux origines de l’humanité. L’étude des représentations archaïques et des animaux l’a convaincue de placer la relation Homme-Animal au cœur de son travail artistique.

Tête de bison, rhinocéros laineux, cheval, mammouth... Les sculptures en céramique nous replongent dans la Préhistoire, nous renvoient à l’art rupestre mais aussi à l’histoire du territoire, remémorée par les fouilles du lac de Paladru. Ces découvertes nous confirment le lien préexistant entre l’Homme et les animaux : entre vie, menace et légendes. Au-delà du figuratif, c’est l’âme de ces animaux qu’Ule Ewelt nous dévoile.

"ANIMA(L). Le mot « anima » est traduit de différentes manières : il signifie âme, êtres animés, vie, mais aussi souffle d’air, vent et souffle. Le mot animal, pour créature, animal en dérive". Ule Ewelt (2019)

Ule Ewelt, apprend la céramique dès l’âge de 16 ans, mais ce n’est que beaucoup plus tard qu’elle se professionnalise pour en vivre. Elle travaille d’abord comme urbaniste pendant six ans, pour se tourner vers le métier de potière. Mais c’est finalement la céramique figurative qu’elle choisira en 2011. « Maintenant j'ai le sentiment d'être absolument authentique dans ce que je fais ». Elle est la première céramiste autodidacte à rejoindre la guilde des céramistes de Hesse en Allemagne (sa région natale). En 2013, elle se concentre entièrement sur les sculptures d’animaux et expérimente différentes techniques de fumage.

Date

Du 30 avril au 30 octobre 2022.

Du 30 avril au 30 juin et du 1er septembre au 30 octobre, ouverture tous les samedis, dimanches et jours fériés de 14h à 18h. Ouverture exceptionnelle le 27 mai (pont de l'Ascension).

En juillet-août, tous les jours de 14h à 18h.

Tarifs

Entrée libre.

Accès

Depuis Grenoble A 48, direction Lyon, sortie Rives, puis D 520 jusqu'à Oyeu et D17 jusqu'à Le Pin.

Photos

Suivant

Précédent

4