Exhibition “Animal cum Animali”

To 02 October 2022

Free

Add to my Google Calendar

Confronting the animated and the inert, Virginie Cavalier questions the relationship to the animal. Fixing the feeling of belonging to the living community, it ritualizes through attempts at animalization and humanization.

She hunts down “leftovers”, “trophies”, abandoned remains in the farms of small producers and during mountain walks where they were delivered to putrefaction and, once cleaned for some, treats them for their conservation.

This collection process defines the ethics of his practice.

Taking the remains out of their context, it tends to make the subject more palpable through accumulation, diversion, valorization: a hunting trophy is at the service of questions.
On the one hand, it creates rites of cultural, funerary, behavioral transpositions, from human to animal and vice versa. On the other, it tries to repair the body, it uses parts from different species, reassembles them, mixes them: hybridizations which are closer to the generic idea that we have of the word "animal" than of the reality of a living being.

Evoking the cabinet of curiosities, shamanism or witchcraft, it addresses animist culture, where beings ensure their rightful place in the environment.

Date

Open from September 3 to October 2, 2022 on Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from 14:30 p.m. to 18 p.m.

Prices

Free access.

Exposition «Animal cum Animali»

Jusqu'au 02 Octobre 2022

Gratuit

Ajouter à mon Agenda Google

Confrontant l'animé et l'inerte, Virginie Cavalier questionne le rapport à l'animal. Fixant le sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté du vivant, elle ritualise par le biais de tentatives d'animalisation et d'humanisation.

Elle traque «restes», «trophées», dépouilles délaissées dans des élevages de petits producteurs et lors de marches en montagne où ils étaient livrés à la putréfaction et, une fois nettoyés pour certains, les traite pour leur conservation.

Ce processus de collecte définit l'éthique de sa pratique.

Sortant les dépouilles de leur contexte, elle tend à rendre le sujet plus palpable à travers l'accumulation, le détournement, la valorisation : un trophée de chasse se met au service de questionnements.
D'une part, elle crée des rites de transpositions culturelles, funéraires, comportementales, de l'humain vers l'animal et réciproquement. D'une autre, elle tente de réparer le corps, elle utilise des parties provenant de différentes espèces, les réassemble, les mixe : des hybridations qui sont plus proches de l’idée générique que l’on se fait du mot «animal» que de la réalité d'un être vivant.

Évoquant le cabinet de curiosités, le chamanisme ou la sorcellerie, elle aborde la culture animiste, où les êtres assurent leur juste place dans l'environnement.

Date

Ouvert du 3 septembre au 2 octobre 2022 les mercredis, vendredis, samedis et dimanches de 14h30 à 18h.

Tarifs

Entrée libre.